Ikat with a Twist

This weekend I searched high and low for the perfect outfit for a friend’s DJ gig at a downtown hotspot. I was looking for the perfect combination of dressy and unique so my look wouldn’t melt into the sea of tight dresses and platform heels that usually dominate the scene.

I fell in love with the bright ikat print on this dress – turquoise and red might be my new favorite color combination. And when do I ever take the subtle route? So, I played up the red even more with a swipe of red lipstick! I wanted to keep the rest of the look simple so I tied my hair back in a braid and kept my jewelry minimal, opting for a pair of ethnic chandelier earrings that I usually pair with Indian clothing. The mix of East and West topped off the look and made it into the eclectic ensemble I was hoping to style!

Dress: Urban Outfitters/Clutch: Forever 21/Sandals: bought in India/Earrings: bought in India

Comments
19 Responses to “Ikat with a Twist”
  1. This dress is FAB on you!!!

    xo

    amysvintagecloset.com

  2. adsanabria86 says:

    beautiful!! I agree… tight dresses are sooo over used…

  3. This is such an amazing dress! You look stunning.

    x
    Sabrina
    http://apixiesviewonfashion.com

  4. Lindsey says:

    I am completely in love with this dress! You look amazing!

  5. You look SO good in that dress!! I want it now, but it’s a bad shape for my body *sniff* They’re all such good colors on you and together.

  6. your dress is amazing 🙂 and you are very pretty!

  7. Gorgeous dress! And you wear it well 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] items that caught my eye was this bright pair of ikat sandals! Man, when I like something I really stick to it don’t I? So, while everyone else, might have moved beyond the ikat trend, I’m bucking […]

  2. […] seem to be on a kick of sticking to trends that people are wayyy over. So in that spirit, let me reintroduce the sock bun. It’s hot and […]



Leave a Reply

