Sock Bun (ish) Tutorial

Okay peeps, due to popular demand, here’s my attempt at putting together a sock bun tutorial! Disclaimer: this is MY version of the sock bun. I did some Googling to research how other gals are doing it and lets just say that I’m not even close to the level of fanciness that’s out there so, keeping that in mind, here’s how to do the sock bun:

Yep, we all have to start somewhere:

So here’s where the magic starts! First, cut off the “toe” of a CLEAN sock. I found that cotton socks don’t work as well as those that are made out of a polyester/stretch mix of fabrics. In order to make it as foolproof as possible, I would definitely recommend using a sock that closely matches the color of your hair. When you’re creating the “donut,” lay the sock out and begin rolling from one end to the other. Remember, the longer the sock the fatter the donut so keep that in mind during your sock selection process (okay, okay it’s not really that difficult of a decision).

Once you’ve created the donut, pull your hair back into a tight ponytail at the crown of your head. It was a lot easier for me to get all the lumps and bumps out by using a round brush but use whatever you have on hand.

Remember the scrunchies that we all wore in first grade? Well, it’s time to get nostalgic! Slip the donut over your ponytail bands the way you would a scrunchie.

At this point, comes the only slightly, kinda sorta tricky part. The main goal here is to hide as much of the donut from sight as possible, so bend over slightly, and fan your hair out as shown in the picture below.

This is the point where I always wish I had an extra pair of  hands. I think a technical sock bun requires you to tuck all the ends underneath and into the donut but since I don’t have those type of skills, I twist, and twist and twist some more. I actually figured out the quickest way to do this while writing this tutorial so I owe all of you readers a big thank you! If you place one hand on the top of the hair covered donut, keeping the hair from slipping, and use the other hand to slowly twist the hair around to create a bun it creates a pretty decent circle.

…almost there!!…

Once you’re happy with the shape take a thick ponytail band (I have a couple on my wrist in the pictures above) and delicately slide it over the bun. Don’t bother wrapping it more than once, the goal here is to just keep the majority of the hair in place. If the band is showing, tuck it in with your thumbs so that it slides under the donut.

At this point, you’re almost done! Use bobby pins to secure the bun – I have a kabillion flyaways so this usually takes me awhile. After you’ve done that, finish it off with a light mist of hairspray so the look will last all day!

Ta daaaaa!!! I hope this helps…and if it doesn’t, feel free to shoot me any questions!

And, here’s how I wore it a couple weekends ago

Have a great weekend everyone!

Comments
7 Responses to “Sock Bun (ish) Tutorial”
  1. Julie says:

    You are such a gorgeous girl ! Love this tutorial.. looks so simple.. am going to try (and thanks for the easy access to comment .. unlike all the signning in with google or facebook or what not).
    Or else lazy ones like me would never comment.

  2. adsanabria86 says:

    looks great, I’ll give it a try (I’ll try to be optimistic about getting it)

  3. yashoda says:

    Rubina I love your blog! I hope my hair is long enough to try this bun, I’ve been wanting to try this for a while but I just got my hair cut

  4. Deanna says:

    Thank you so much! I was so frustrated…I looked at a million sites and all of them didnt work. You helped so much! Thank you so much!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Sleeveless blazer: Zara/Dress: Urban Outfitters/Heels: H&M/Watch: Avon/Earrings: Marc by Marc Jacobs/Sock Bun: tutorial here […]



Leave a Reply

