Vignette Etiquette

Ever since I wrote about “dressing up” the top of my newly painted dresser, I’ve been perusing Etsy and other home accessory shops seeking out unique and interesting things. The problem is I like everything. Literally. At one point I had 50 items bookmarked! Since I’m going for the curated look instead of hoarding central I referred back to my vignette criteria:

1. Texture: I’m mainly sourcing from vintage shops on Etsy in order to have a variety of textures to play with and everything doesn’t have the “new and shiny” look. I’m sticking to two categories – rustic and metallic. Ha, I just realized why I’m so attracted to those two finishes. A while back I had diagnosed my style to be:

Hopefully, by sticking to rustic and metallic textures I’ll be able to keep the vignette focused and not too busy with my patterned walls.

1.5. Size: This wasn’t on my original list of things to think about but if you look at my inspiration images, you’ll notice that there is a juxtaposition of height and scale so to add some interest without being visually overwhelming I’m going to include a random mix of tall/skinny items with short/wide things.

2. Color: Okay, so some of you might think I need an intervention. Another color?! Relax peeps, I’m all about unexpected neutrals here. Translation – all silver and gold. The silver obviously speaks to the walls but I love the idea of gold as a surprising – and admittedly – a little clashy, contrasting tone.

3. Me: Until I sat down to write this post, I thought this would be the hardest part. If I’m focusing on accessorizing with vintage pieces that have previous owners – how do I give them my own spin? But once I realized that my choices for texture and color fit my style diagnosis, I realized that it was all about my personal collection!

So here are a few of the things I have my eye on:

Images via (clockwise from top left): anestamoby, WellWudJaLookAtThat, ApartmentFourteen, Z Gallerie, SalvagedYard, anestamoby & rustyvintage

Wish me luck!

Comments
4 Responses to “Vignette Etiquette”
  1. I love this post. I’m REALLY new to this decorating thing and it gives me a good idea of how to mix/match stuff to create a look. Thanks for the tips. I think I may just add this to my “Hall of Fame” page.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] I’ve been kinda sneaky. While I’ve been posting about how to pull together a vignette (here and here) and of course bowing down to the unrestrained fashion of MIA I’ve been working on a […]

  2. […] I’ve been talking about vignettes for a couple of weeks (read about them here and here) and I was at the point that I thought I had it all figured out…until I realized how […]



Leave a Reply

