Pickin’ Hardware

Back to the dresser transformation! To update all of you, I’ve picked the exact shade of orange but before the big reveal I realized that some way to actually open the drawers and cabintes might come in handy. Let’s face it, the not so pretty brass handles and knobs are begging to go:

I thought this would be a quick search for some simple drawer pulls and knobs but I had no idea what I was getting myself into. There are million, trillion, kabillion options out there! Not only in styles but colors, shapes, finishes, the list goes on and on. So when I started feeling overwhelmed, I went back to my design formula to figure out what I was drawn to. I realized that a lot of the images that were components of my ideal style combined oranges, teals and…black. See what I mean?

So I decided on black hardware as an accent. I know what you might be thinking – won’t it be too Halloweenish? But I’ll give you a hint about the paint color – it’s more of a reddish orange so I think it’ll be fine. So here’s a reminder of what will be going on in that portion of the living room:

I’m also using a glossy paint finish on the dresser so I was interested in matte black hardware. Even with those qualifiers, I still had tons of options but I finally narrowed down to these three:

This drawer pull for the drawers in the middle:

This cabinet knob for each of the sides:

And, this drawer knob for the top drawers:

Images top to bottom: via,  via,  via

So what do you think of my choices?


The Shabby Nest
Tip Junkie handmade projects

Comments
6 Responses to “Pickin’ Hardware”
  1. Sonia says:

    love it…so creative!

  2. cassie says:

    can’t wait to see how the dresser turns out!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] can read more about how I got to this point here and here. Happy Friday! GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); […]

  2. […] silver and black print pulled in what was going on my walls and also provided the inspiration for black drawer pulls that are sleek and modern and cabinet handles with just a touch of […]



Leave a Reply

