Choices & Decisions

If you haven’t noticed, an ugly duckling has been hiding in my newly painted living room. Do you see it?


 Okay, so it’s not exactly playing hide and seek – it’s that half-sanded, handles falling off, massive dresser. I purchased the piece off Craigslist a few months ago for $30! I loved its clean lines and the fact that it wasn’t overly ornate. The other reason I loved it was the tons and tons of storage options (I promise the cotton candy pink is disappearing):

So the ReDesign project I’ve been mentioning (here and here) is painting this dresser. Of course I also need to figure out new hardware and what to do with the inside but the biggest lesson I learned from this project was to tackle diy in pieces.

I’ve been contemplating for awhile whether I wanted the bright sunshine-y look of yellow against the teal walls, especially with pops of hot pink and plum like in the picture below:

 via

Who wouldn’t love to live in a room like that? I was all set to tell all of you that yellow it was…..until (I really need some background music here)…..I took a closer look at one of the pictures I posted in my Orange post:

via

And fell head over heels for the teal dress and orange sweater ensemble. If you haven’t noticed fashion definitely impacts my interior decor choices and vice versa so the idea of not only painting the dresser orange but layering textures throughout the room sold me on turning this dresser…

…into something like this:

 via

via

via


Tip Junkie handmade projects

Comments
6 Responses to “Choices & Decisions”
  1. I wouldn’t have thought about orange but I think it’s gonna look fab.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] on to the second step of my dresser project (read all about it here)! I picked up a few swatches today and now I’m working on deciding which is the perfect […]

  2. […] worry I’m not changing my paint color decision (read about my dresser here) but some of you very, very, very kind readers asked for the Color Inspiration series to continue […]

  3. […] to the dresser transformation! To update all of you, I’ve picked the exact shade of orange but before the big reveal I realized that some way to actually open the drawers and cabintes might […]

  4. […] can read more about how I got to this point here and here. Happy Friday! GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); […]



Leave a Reply

