Living in Color

Sorry for the long break between posts, ladies and (a few) gents. I fell back into my usual lazy way and made a million and one excuses for it – it’s the end of summer, I have friends in town, it’s a Thursday – I used them all. Instead, I’ll just promise all of you a huge reveal post very soon!

Here’s a hint: I’ve been drowning in a sea of paintbrushes, rollers and ___colored paint. But let me back up and remind all of you what I’m working with I’ve been pulling inspiration for each of my rooms (check it out here) but I wanted to kick-off the Redesign process by tackling at least a portion of the living room where I spend all of my TV watching/eating/reading/eating/napping/eating etc, etc, time. I shared pictures of my apartment earlier this summer but here is a reminder of what the living room looks like:

As blah, bland, boring as you remember. Since I’ve moved in, I’ve been searching for inspiration and as I admitted in a previous post, I have fallen in love with the color teal. It adds a moody, glamorous ambiance to a room and with my current neutral furnishings I thought it might be the perfect pop of color in this room, like in this room:

But, I can’t keep things simple. I didn’t just want teal-colored walls, I was looking for something unique that most people haven’t seen before. And that’s when I came across Cutting Edge Stencils. The website offers a variety of stencils ranging from single statement pieces to allover wall designs. I wanted something that would give the appearance of wallpaper without spending that type of money. I’m not much for picking a “theme” for a room, I like pulling together an eclectic mix of things, but I’ve been obsessed  with Moroccan architecture lately and wanted to integrate at lease some sort of reference to it. Long story short, I settled on this stencil:


I loved the shape – feminine and interesting. Of course, once seeing this picture on the website, I fell in love with the metallic outline, adding an extra bit of glamour. Obviously it’s a fairly busy pattern, I think a little will go a long way so I’m planning on focusing on one or two accent walls .

So that’s what I’ve been working on. It’s been a pretty big learning curve (probably because I’m not so great at following directions) but I can’t wait to share the final results with all of you! Stay tuned!

Comments
4 Responses to “Living in Color”
  1. Suzanne says:

    Wow~ awesome choice! Very bold, and it looks like you’ve got the perfect room for it. I’m about to try a stenciling project on a window (with frosted contact paper) so I’m interested to see how this turns out for you!

    Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

    • Rubina says:

      Hi Suzanne! Thank you for checking out the post…I had to take a peek over at your blog and love your photography! Definitely send over some pictures when you stencil that window, I would love to see how that turns out 🙂

  2. Shelly says:

    I wish you luck! I am stenciling our guest room right now. Very similar pattern but my walls were colored first, so to get a lighter paint for the pattern, I had to choose one that let me at painted LINES. It has been pretty easy. Ask me if you have questions. 🙂

Leave a Reply

