Textile Artwork

Now that my living room is starting to take shape (check out my latest DIY here) I’m starting to source items to fill in the blanks – the blank walls that is. As much as I love my roomy living room, it leaves a lot of wall space to cover, which isn’t always easy when on a budget. One of those spaces is the wall above the couch where I’m hoping to put up one large piece of art (I decided against a collage because I think it will look too busy when next to my knick-knack happy bookcases). Unfortunately, these types of paintings, prints, etc. cost way more than I want to spend when putting the icing on my rental. So with these images as my inspiration…

via

via

via

…I’ve come up with a much more wallet-friendly idea to use textiles – anything from tapestries to bedding to vintage saris – as my big statement piece. Depending on which one I choose, I have a couple ideas for inexpensive mounting and framing possibilities so stay tuned for those! In the meantime, here are a few of the fabrics catching my eye…

via

via

via

 via

Comments
One Response to “Textile Artwork”
  1. Caroline says:

    My boyfriend just bought his first apartment and he’s on a hunt for rugs (read: I’m on a hunt)…these are GORGEOUS.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

