Teal Reveal

It’s finally here! After working over the past couple months to finish my living room accent walls (in very, very tiny amounts), I’m so excited to share the final look with all of you. But before I get to the big reveal, here are a few reminders:

1. The blah boring living room I introduced to all of you a few months ago (check out more pictures here)…

2. The color that I was inspired by…

3. And the pattern I chose…

via

Of course, after I had already committed to the project in the blogosphere, I realized I might be in over my head. Although, Cutting Edge Stencils was uber helpful, I learned a lot through trial-and-error. So here’s a quick recap of the process:

1. Painted both walls in 2 coats of metallic gray paint ( I used Martha Stewart Living Metallic Paint in Thundercloud)

Lesson learned: 2 thin coats are key, otherwise you’ll use up your paint supply very quickly since metallic paint has a streaky quality. In this case it didn’t matter because the pattern was going to be stenciled over it.

2. Painted 1 column and 1 row of the stencil pattern in teal paint (I used Behr Premium Plus Paint in Peacock Feather). I painted it using a dense foam roller, which was also from Cutting Edge Stencils.

Lesson learned: This step is extremely important because this “cross” serves as a compass from where the rest of the pattern feathers out. Take your time and make sure that it’s all level. I used Elmer’s Spray Adhesive to keep the edges as tight as possible and only felt the need to re-apply the adhesive after 2 or 3 repeats.

3. Painted all “whole” designs, leaving the edges of the wall.

Lesson learned: You need to be really, really, really patient to tackle a project like this (which I’m not). I rolled over each stencil twice to get the teal opaque enough that the metallic portion didn’t peek through. It took a ton of time but now that my muscles aren’t sore anymore (yup, I’m weak) it was worth the effort!

4. Painted the edges of the walls.

Lesson learned: Be creative. I created my own system as I went – I found it difficult to mold the stencil to fit into the edges of the wall so I hand painted it…probably not the best method for everyone but it was the most efficient for me.

5. Touch ups!

Lesson learned: Embrace imperfection! I ended up buying a small paintbrush, similar in size to an eye shadow brush, and used it to touch up the places where the paint leaked through the stencil lines and a few of the spots where I still could see the metallic paint. The best part about this type of repeating pattern is that it’s super forgiving because the eye follows the pattern and don’t get stuck on any one portion so I was able to keep the “repairs” minimal.

Overall, I was really proud that I took on such a big project for a novice painter and was actually able to finish it (even if it was a couple months longer than it really should have taken). And now…..drum roll please….the final results!

Completing this project has just made me more excited to tackle some of the other living room ReDesign projects I want to tackle, such as:

~ Paint the remaining walls

~ Finish the dresser

~ DIY curtains

But in the meantime, what do you guys think of the final look? Have you used stenciling before?

Home Stories A2Z

Tip Junkie handmade projects
Somewhat Simple

Comments
43 Responses to “Teal Reveal”
  1. Kathryn says:

    That’s just beautiful!

  2. Pamela says:

    Great job Rubina! All your efforts have really paid off!!

    Pam

  3. Erin says:

    Holy moley! That must have taken so much work! It looks great, though. Do you just love it?

  4. rebekahdawn says:

    It looks beautiful!

  5. Gorgeous! What an impact!!

  6. Carey says:

    This is gorgeous! I would love to paint a wall like this, but I know I will never have the time:)

  7. mikalah says:

    Wow- what an amazing transformation! I love the color you chose paired with the silvery finish. It’s definitely not boring anymore! =)

  8. Starla says:

    Love it! Looks like super expensive wallpaper! Way to stick it out so worth it!

  9. amy says:

    Wow, it came out great. You did an awesome job!

  10. It looks great! I’ve been thinking of stenciling an accent wall in our spare bedroom a teal color as well. I love how you combined it with the metallic paint! Great job:)

  11. nicole says:

    wow, this looks great!!! i’m stopping by from the lovely poppy and would love for you to come by and checkout the huge giveaway going on that ends thursday- http://thelovelypoppy.blogspot.com/2011/10/blog-follower-giveaway.html xoxo nicole

  12. Naomi says:

    Wow! Your walls turned about absolutely gorgeous!

  13. Carrie says:

    Oh wow! What a statement! It is gorgeous.

  14. WOW!! I love it! I don’t think I’m patience enough to tackle such a big project! I definitely take my hat off to you!! Great job!!

  15. DF says:

    This turned out beautifully!

  16. Jacqueline says:

    I love the finished look! Thats the same stencil I’m getting! How long did it take you to finish the wall with the stencil? Thanks for sharing this at my link party.

    • Rubina says:

      Thank you! I’m so glad I got the chance to be a part of your link party :)
      Honestly, the total time probably wasn’t more than a weekend worth of work but I stretched it out over a looooong time. Let me know how your walls turn out!

  17. Jackie says:

    Beautiful!

  18. Timmy MB says:

    did you do any sort of prep work on the walls before you painted the metallic paint?

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] to figure out new hardware and what to do with the inside but the biggest lesson I learned from this project was to tackle diy in [...]

  2. [...] fashion of MIA I’ve been working on a project behind the scenes. After I finished the teal walls and the dresser makeover I was so OVER painting. I never wanted to see a paintbrush again! But [...]

  3. [...] obsession with teal (discussed here and here) is far from new news on this blog so, as you can guess, when I came across a sheer lacy blouse in [...]

  4. [...] gallery wall I’ll be displaying above the orange dresser. One of the inspiration pictures for my teal walls also has an eclectic mix of frames that I love and is the jumping off point for my own collection, [...]

  5. [...] girl for trying to find some humor in the situation? The bad news is that I have to say goodbye to my teal walls but I’m excited about transforming a new space into something that fits my style. I know some [...]

  6. [...] so excited to share my all time favorite DIY project (past ones include this & this) but here’s a little teaser of the inspiration pictures that I used, have a good weekend [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

